University of Zielona Góra
contact | PL | EN

About the University

The University of Zielona Góra was founded on the basis of the Parliamentary Law of June 07th, 2001. However, the date may be misleading. The academic tradition of the city goes back to 1965, when the Higher School of Engineering was founded, subsequently transformed into the Technical University.  In 1971 the academic offer of Zielona Góra was extended to prospective teachers, when the Teacher Training College was founded, in 1973 transformed into Tadeusz Kotarbiński Pedagogical University. The University of Zielona Góra was founded through a merger of the Technical University and the Pedagogical University, thus becoming the biggest state institution of higher education in the Lubuskie Province. In the academic year 2012/2013, the University offered undergraduate, postgraduate and doctoral courses to 15,500 of intramural and extramural students.


The University of Zielona Góra is located in the elite group of classical Polish universities.


The University is entitled to confer post-doctoral degrees in five areas: Astronomy, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, History and Mathematics, and doctoral degrees in 15 areas: Astronomy, Automatics and Robotics, Biology, Machine Building and Operation, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Philosophy, Physics, History, IT, Environmental Engineering, Literature Studies, Mathematics, Environment Protection and Education.

The mission of the University

The vision of the University

Rektorat 04 - Mamert Janion.jpg
Budynek Wydziałów Inzynierii Lądowej i Środowiska oraz Nauk Biologicznych.JPG

 You are here: English version > About the University