University of Zielona Góra
contact | PL | EN

Faculty of Biological Sciences


Biology – I, II and III cycle (intramural and extramural studies)
Biotechnology –I and II cycle (intramural studies)
Environment Protection – I, II and III cycle (intramural and extramural studies)


The Faculty of Biological Sciences (WNB) was founded in 2007. It was established on the foundations of the Institute of Biotechnology and Environment Protection, which had functioned since 1994. The structure of WNB includes six departments: Biochemistry and Bioinformatics, Biotechnology, Botany and Ecology, Microbiology and Genetics, Nature conservation and Zoology as well as the Botanical Garden. The Faculty of Biological Sciences cooperates closely and provides substantive support for the Nature Centre, which is part of the Kepler Science Centre.


Classes are conducted in modern lecture halls and laboratories in the university building A-8 situated in Campus A, at 1 Szafrana St. 1. Another building, at 21b Monte Cassino St., houses modern laboratories of the Departments of Microbiology and Genetics and the Department of Biotechnology. The excellent educational facilities are made complete with the Botanical Garden and the Nature Centre.


Within the framework of the Science and Technology Park of the University of Zielona Góra in Nowy Kisielin, ‘The Technologies For Human Health’ Innovation Centre was established. It is a place of advanced education and research in the area of life science for the students and teachers of WNB.


WNB is a young and dynamically developing Faculty, where research is conducted in many disciplines of natural sciences. The Faculty employs staff of 60 high-class specialists, 22 of whom are professors.

ZAFF130513_354.jpg ZAFF130521_087.jpg DSC_0014.jpg
WNB_IMG_7750.jpg WNB_IMG_7762.jpg ZAFF130613_051.jpg
ZAFF130613_005.jpg IMG_7757.jpg IMG_7789.jpg

 You are here: English version > About the University > Faculties > Faculty of Biological Sciences
D&C JARY (C) 2013 - 2016 University of Zielona Góra